James Wiebe of Belite Aircraft Wins 2011 August Raspet Award

Belite Aircraft President and CEO James Wiebe has won the 2011 August Raspet Award, one of the most prestigious honors bestowed by the Experimental Aircraft Association each year. Wiebe has joined a lofty club of individuals that includes the first winner of the award, John Thorpe, and other notables with surnames ranging from Wittman to Pietenpol, Bengelis to Rutan.

James Wiebe

The award is named for the late Dr. August "Gus" Raspet, a professor at Mississippi State University and avid light aircraft enthusiast. Raspet was instrumental in elevating the aeronautical engineering program at Mississippi A&M College, as it was originally known, into one of the nation's preeminent aerophysics research centers. Since 1960, the Dr. August Raspet Memorial Award has been presented every year to a person who has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of light aircraft design.

Wiebe's contributions to aviation include a set of extreme (and we are talking grams here) ultralight solid-state flight instruments, carbon-fiber technology in aircraft structures, and his innovative in-line water sensing unit for fuel systems.



Contributing Editor Amy Laboda is a freelance writer and editor of Aviation for Women magazine. She's an ATP-rated pilot and instrument and multi-engine Flight Instructor with a passion for teaching and flying in light aircraft. Her steady rides these days are a 18-year old Kitfox IV and a fresh Van's RV-10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.